40: Act on Passions: It’s just a jump to the left

I have very few problems with Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Sometimes though, it feels like I waste my life on it. I have a drawer full of costuming. I have spent hours sewing sequins and ribbons on clothes. I have searched thrift stores for days to find the perfect shoes. I have a box full of otherwise useless makeup. Glitter, gluesticks, dark brown foundation. I have so much brain space taken up by this movie. Every line, every scene in order. When a callback comes and what to say exactly, throughout the entire movie. What props need to be on stage for every scene and the scene after it. I know a ton of random facts about the show.

In the original stage production of the show, Tim Curry was blonde.

Dr. Scott busts through the wall because they forgot to make a door in the lab.

When the show first aired, it flopped, but gained success as a midnight show.

Riff Raff’s shoes have a cuban heel (curved in at the back like a cowboy boot).

Columbia’s floorshow corset is on upside down.

There is an actual Easter egg hidden under Frank’s silver chair. (seen below)

tumblr_muij9pBcYg1rf06fso1_500

But then I remember that these people are like my family! It seems like a chore to have to some months. When I have too many other things to do, and it just seems like another obligation. Parties come up, exams are the next day, friends are in town, but then I get to Rocky Horror and see my cast and I remember why I love it! These people are a second family. They know me and my troubles and my strengths. They have helped me through hard times. They get concerned that I eat enough and that I’m being safe getting to the shows. When I brought my boyfriend to a show, it was like introducing him to my family. I was glad when they approved and told me he was a good one.

Like a family, we have our problems and our arguments, but at the end of the day, we all go to breakfast after the show and chat about our lives and interests, which are generally quite nerdy.

I’ve learned a lot about myself from Rocky Horror Picture Show. I gained a lot of my self-confidence through doing the show. I spend every show in front of an audience acting, and often acting in my underwear. Because of this, I’m confident in my body and my ability to rock that stage! From running the merch table, I have grown in my selling skills as well as my ability to talk to people and explain everything we have to offer in a few seconds to grab their attention.

All in all, I believe that I am a better person because of Rocky Horror Picture Show.

 

About DearBitsy

I'm Samantha Foster, a VCU student with no real certain idea as to when I will graduate. I own a small, angry, black cat named Wednesday. She steals my roommate's diabetes testing supplies for toys. I am part of Richmond's only Rocky Horror Picture Show live shadow cast, Orgasmic Rush of Lust, where I regularly glue glitter to my face and wear thigh high fishnets.

Leave a comment